The wheel is turning but the hamster is dead…

jellico3

He jumped the security barrier and made it to the chairman’s office before being wrestled to the ground.

‘THEY’RE KEEPING THEM IN PENS,’ he howled, ‘RODENTS PUMPED UP TO THE EYEBALLS ON STEROIDS…’

The chairman came out of his office accompanied by a journalist.

‘…RUNNING ROUND WHEELS, GETTING BIGGER…TILL THEY GRADUATE TO BIKES HOOKED UP TO GIANT TURBINES…’

The man was dragged away, leaving behind a crumpled photo.

‘…RED MEAT…FRENZIED…’

The chairman scoffed.

‘You’ll note that these conspiracists only ever have grainy pictures to substantiate their ludicrous claims…and as for your assertion that we’re in the throes of an energy crisis…’

Behind him the corridor lights flickered…

Written for: Friday Fictioneers

31 Comments

Filed under Flash fiction, short story

31 responses to “The wheel is turning but the hamster is dead…

  1. Dear Martin,

    Soylent Green is people! Creepy good stuff.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. Martin Cororan

    ‘You maniacs’ etc…(Thanks!)

  3. My Hammie “Tiki” would love that you are standing up for her rodential rights! LOL! Loved the story. Yawning from having listened to Tiki on her two wheels all night… need to oil them again, methinks. 🙂

  4. I wouldn’t trust any large corporation these days, especially not one with this shady chairman running it. nice work.

  5. Is it horrible of me to want to see the mutant rodents? I mean, I don’t need to see it to know the screamer is telling the truth. I just want to see how many hamsters it takes to turn on a light bulb… live hamsters, that is.

  6. michael1148humphris

    If all the hamsters stop turning, will the lights go out and the world stop.🙂

  7. I’m with Magaly – intrigued to see the steroid pumped hamsters! A unique take on the prompt, Martin – always a different slant from you and it’s a constant pleasure 🙂

  8. Oh. My skin is crawling. I don’t mind rodents and things – when they’re in their proper place. But GIANT ones? No thanks.

  9. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover

    Loved the tittle and the twisted story of corporate greed.

  10. Loved it, as always. I like your weird sense of humor! That’s a compliment btw.🤓

  11. Great title and creativity on this one Martin

  12. And so it begins… 😦 Catchy title.

  13. Loved this and title was perfect!

  14. That’s a great title. Brilliantly told short version – now get on with the book.

  15. Sounds plausible to me. In my opinion processed foods are plumping up our children but we’ve taken away the bicycles. Oops, my first comment on your blog is a tangential rant. My bad.
    Good take on the prompt and a powerful delivery is what I meant to say.
    Tracey

  16. Now that must be a major energy crisis. I suspect a turbine on any stream would yield more wattage. 😊

  17. Ooooo methinks there is something in his ranting! Great piece

  18. Beware of the monster hamster. I love it.

  19. The title left me wondering and anxious to read your story. Well written …
    Isadora 😎

Leave a Reply

