Chivalry in decline…

195-03-march-19th-2017

‘We’ve been over this a dozen times Gregory. I grow tired of repeating myself.’

‘Yes, and I apologise for the inconvenience, but surely there’s a more mutually beneficial way of sealing our union than a duel to the death with an opponent famed throughout the land for being able to pull a man’s arms out at the sockets. Don’t get me wrong – I’m not saying that you’re not ‘fair’ enough fair-maiden…’

‘Now Gregory, you know how I despise double-negatives!’

‘Yes…but under the circumstances of my imminent, garish dismemberment one might expect to be granted a little leeway?’

‘To win my hand you must prove your worth.’

‘But why must I be the greatest warrior? Why can’t I bake you the greatest cake? or sow you the greatest quilt?’

‘The crowd grows restless my love.’

‘OK…well, in that case…let me just go…check…that…my sword has been sufficiently sharpened.’

‘…And you’re not going to leap onto the fastest horse you can find and gallop away like the last lot?’

‘Upon my honour fairish maiden…’

 

(172 words)

Written for: Sunday Photo Fiction

13 Comments

Filed under Flash fiction

13 responses to “Chivalry in decline…

  1. Why does chivalry have to be so dangerous! Nice take on the prompt.

  2. Ha, good laugh. So demanding, no wonder the others left in a hurry, I’m not sure she’s a prize worth winning!

  3. “okay, I’m off. Bai!”

    I like that story

  4. She’s way too high maintenance. Find that fast horse, Gregory, and put as much distance between you and her as possible.

  5. I like the subtle demotion from ‘fair’ to ‘fairish’ maiden. Says a lot 🙂

  6. Funny, and I like his attitude! Sign me up for the guy who bakes the greatest casserole. 🙂

  7. Oh don’t be such a girlie, get in there and fight dirty.
    I always find that a Glock 19 is a useful accessory in a sword fight.
    Loved your story.

  8. Bravo!! 👏. Talk about high maintenance:)

Leave a Reply

