I reached you eventually…(100 word challenge)

DSCN0291

From a lonely library, hanging by a thread, I took a book – last loaned fifty years past. From between its waxy pages a solitary slip of paper slid:

‘He suspects. It’s tonight or never. You – My all.’

A rendezvous unfulfilled; a burr that kept catching.

Necessity employed me as sleuth. The previous lender’s faded name led me to buildings long vacated and to a rain-soaked grave, the date of departure fifty years past.

Standing over the headstone – a man, unfeasibly old.

‘You were her husband?’

‘No, her… her other.’

‘I believe this was for you.’

 

Written for: Thin Spiral Notebook (100 Word Challenge)

8 Comments

Filed under Flash fiction

8 responses to “I reached you eventually…(100 word challenge)

  1. So many emotions are evoked in this… both heartbreaking and touching.

    (Thank you for joining in the Challenge. I hope to see you back soon.)

  2. Wow, an amazing story. Well done Martin

  3. Wow! Further to Tara’s comment -also a little spine tingling if you let your imagination go … fantastic job!

  4. Oh, such a sad story….but I liked it.😌

Leave a Reply

