First World Problems (#writephoto)

Writephoto

‘And so you see, the answer was inside yourself all along…’

Mystical settings aside the pupil was livid.

That’s it? That’ll all you’ve got? After months of meditation, and all those trials: Descend blindfolded to the bottom of the sacred pit and pick the poisonous moss of blah…and the tightrope over the lava…and the chalice filled with troll’s tears (‘Don’t spill a drop!’)…I have literally journeyed to the centre of the earth in my quest for enlightenment…and for what? Some vague, fortune cookie punch line? I’ve a good mind to go up into the world and expose you for the charlatan that you are!’

The teacher’s face remained calm as he replied in his mother-tongue.

‘You seem very angry, but alas I can’t understand a word you’re saying. Typical westerner – thinking everyone speaks English.

I’m gonna go out on a limb and presume that you’ve mistaken me for Zastra the Zen Master. A lot of people do! (He’s in the next cave along). My name’s Leonard. I work in IT Support, though in truth I don’t get much support done what with you rich pricks turning up at all hours of the day and night with your white man issues. It became so much of a problem in fact that I went to see Zastra myself. He gave me these pre-prepared cards to read out. No idea what they mean, but most of you seem mollified by them…oh…I may not speak English, but I know a string of expletives when I…please don’t slam the door. Stalactites don’t grow on trees…bye then!’

As one pupil left, another arrived.

‘Great and wise Zastra. I have travelled across continents to seek answers.’

Leonard gave a deep sigh and read from the card. ‘OK…first, descend blindfolded into the sacred pit of…’

 

Written for:Sue Vincent’s Photo Prompt

9 Comments

Filed under Flash fiction

9 responses to “First World Problems (#writephoto)

  1. Pingback: First World Problems by Martin Cororan #writephoto | Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

  2. That was funny! Reminds me of calling tech support, hearing a thick Indian accent, and having someon say. “My name is Jane…”

  3. Good one! Nice denouement.

  4. Pingback: Photo prompt round-up – Deep #writephoto | Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Leave a Reply

