The BBC adventure…

Henry Kelly – What a hero!

I managed to get an interview with Radio Berkshire’s finest this morning – my first ever. Took a taxi up to their HQ in Caversham – ‘The land that time forget’ – an old country house stuck in the glorious Halcyon days of pimms on the lawn.

Q: What’s the dumbest thing you can do when going to a radio interview to promote your book?

A: Forget to take a copy of the book!

I stopped off on route at a local bookshop and bought a copy (I have 2000 in my house – what an idiot!)

Before I knew it I was introduced to the great man himself – He gave the book a really good plug, but was most unimpressed to find that I’d never been to Belfast (where Cororans come from). Apologising profusely for this gross lapse in judgement I modestly referred to The Melting Pot as ‘fantastic.’ We talked about the process of self-publishing and he was genuinely interested in what I had to say.

A superb experience that has given me alot more confidence.

…Right…back to harrassing bookshops!

Leave a comment

Filed under Archive

Leave a Reply

